Direction not Intention

Direction, not intention, determines destination.

As the New Year begins, I find myself pausing and taking inventory of the direction in my life. Most of the time I have the best intentions, a sense of what I believe is the right action. I plan, read books, and make resolutions both to achieve my professional goals and to improve my personal development. However, unless I take actions toward those intentions, then I end up some place other than where I want to be, shaking my head and wondering what went wrong.

My intention when I began Custom Services was to build a successful heating and air conditioning company. To achieve that intention, I took steps toward my destination, choosing my direction each day. I hired top-notch employees who shared this intention. I made sound financial choices, never spending more than we earned and always making wise purchasing choices. I invested in continuing education and personal development for myself and our employees. I built quality and consistency into our services and products.

Through the last 30 years, our company has faced obstacles that could have diverted us from our destination. Rather than allowing these challenges to change our direction, we addressed the issues, turning the obstacles into opportunities for growth. Custom Services’ commitment to employee development, and my personal commitment to life-long learning, means that we are prepared to handle each new opportunity and challenge that comes across our path, remaining true to the original intention.

Our choices, not just our intentions, determine our destination. On the journey to our goals, sometimes we must pause and re-evaluate our actions.

  • Are our actions leading us toward our intention?
  • Do our choices line up with our vision?
  • What stands in the way of getting where we want to go?
  • What do we need to do to prepare for future challenges?

It is our responsibility to ourselves and to our customers to evaluate what has worked in the past and what we would like to change in the future.

When our actions line up with our intentions, we continue the rewarding journey toward our destination.

At Custom Services, we continue toward our destination of being Oklahoma’s premiere heating, air conditioning and plumbing company by providing you with quality service.

Leave a comment